Engagement Dinner Party

There is some really great news in our family. My brother-in-law has asked his girlfriend Shannon of four years to marry him…finally! I was so excited to hear this news, that I knew I had to do something special to celebrate with them. So, I threw them a little dinner party.

I wanted the table to be simple, but elegant. So I went with a black and white color scheme, and added some red rose centerpieces for a little pop of color.

I made little menu cards for each place setting. Gives it a more formal feel. Then I busted out my silver chargers. I actually got these for my wedding, but I rarely have such a formal event to use them for. I do have 2 young boys, after all! I also used my chalkboard painted wine glasses for the seating tags. I love how they tie in with my black and white theme. I served a green salad with Dijon vinaigrette, twice baked red potatoes, Gorgonzola crusted Fillet Mignon, and sauteed green beans with toasted almonds.

For desert, I wanted to make them something really special. Here are some “champagne” Cake pops. I used white nonpareils  for the bubbles and a white candy melt for the glass base.

The champagne bottle was really fun to make. But a lot of work, so there is only one! I made the bottle green, then painted it with some gold edible paint for the foil at the top. The black and red decorations were colored on with edible pens. The bottle monogram was made by piping white chocolate on some wax paper. I flipped the label over, then used an edible pen to draw on the monogram.

Overall, it was a great night. The food was delicious, the wine was flowing, and most of all, the bride and groom to be really enjoyed that we made this celebration special. Congratulations David and Shannon!

February 19, 2012. Tags: , , , , . Food and Drink.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

