Felt Car City

My boys are obsessed with hot wheels. But hot wheels tracks never stay together and always seem to get broken. Plus, they are always racing their cars on the counters, on the floor, or up the walls. Sometimes they have me draw them a track outside using chalk. But it never lasts. Sooooo, I thought I’d make them something a little more permanent, but that doesn’t take up a ton of space like a train table.  I did a little search, and there are a ton of ideas out there, but I really liked this one by Oopsey Daisy.

My younger son was sick this week, so it seemed like the perfect project for us to stay home and do.  I bought two yards of green felt, plus a quarter yard of a variety of colors (though 1/4 yard was waaayyy too much!). As I cut and glued, he drove and parked his cars…for hours. Here is the finished project. It took two days, but well worth the effort, as they have already spent countless hours playing on it!

It’s certainly not perfect, but they don’t care! It does the trick and the best part is I can fold it up and put it away when they are done playing!

January 29, 2012. Tags: , , , . Fun for Kids.

One Comment

  1. Melissa.pruden replied:

    Awesome! This looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

