Dusting off the sewing machine and breaking out the paint!

I used to sew when I was much younger, like Junior High. My mom sent me to “Barbara’s Sew Much Fun”, where I basically learned the basics. Then I never sewed again. Until now. My mom gave me her old sewing machine, and it was collecting dust and taking up space until I discovered Stumble Upon. OMG-I am obsessed with this site.  I stumbled upon this post, and decided I could create this pillow. She said it would be easy! And it was!! Here is the finished pillow.

I ended up making two of them. But then I saw this post. And I knew it would go perfect with my rosette pillows. But this time, I had a lot of ruffle strips to sew. So, I got help. This is my 5-year old son, insisting on learning how to sew. He did pretty good! I love how his toy jet is close by as he is hard at work:)

Here are all three together. I used an old dress shirt to make the pillow, as the tutorial suggests, but I wish I had dyed it a darker color first, since the white shows through. Oh well:) I’m still pretty happy with it!

But, now that I had new pillows, I needed some art to go with it. I found this post, and decided it would be perfect! This canvas painting was incredibly fast, I think I maybe spent 45 minutes on it.

Here are all three together. Its like a new bedroom!! And the best part, it was all done for under $40!! I still want to do some European Shams, but that will come later. I’m pretty happy with this for now.

January 25, 2012. Tags: , , . Sewing and Crafts.

One Comment

  1. Melissa.pruden replied:

    I love this! It looks beautiful!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

